Hi readers, my topic for this blog will be No Child Left Behind. I hope you and I both gain much knowledge about this subject through my blog. I do not know a lot about the topic, but from what I have heard I do not think I agree with it. I will be using my google reader as well as a few Ebsco servers to obtain articles to comment on. I hope you all enjoy.

Well now that I have told you what my topic will be about I would like to take time before I start to make a comment on another topic. This topic is that of the idea of going green in schools, I just feel that I should talk about this briefly because I have noticed several changes as I have entered my Junior year of College.

Upon walking into my first class, no or should I say by checking blackboard for the first time this semester it became very apparent that the issue of going green would make its ways into our schools and university. I have received few syllabi this semester. Which most teachers claim it is in the good spirit of going “green.” I feel that most students just shrug as they wander on off to the computer lab to print off their own syllabus. How many students really grasp this idea of “going green?” Why should this matter to us now while we are in college? Our High Schools didn’t push this issue did they? Like most kids growing up I felt that going green was just a nice way to say save some paper. I found out that I wasn’t wrong but that there is a lot more to it than just that.

In her article “Secondaries lag behind on lessons in going green” Adi Bloom gives a little insight to why the notion of “Green” is not being looked at in schools. She states that, “Teaching sustainabilty tends to be inconsistent and unco-ordinated. Many pupils’ only knowledge of recycling comes from home, and staff are unenthusiastic about Fairtrade initiatives. While lessons on sustainability are usually good or outstanding, most schools only address the issue during extra-curricular activities or one- off events. It is rarely a regular part of the curriculum.”

To sum sustainability up in three words it means supply, support, and provide. Going green will provide us with a safe community. Recycling, and driving less can help prevent pollution. Going green can also mean organic foods or just healthier foods in general. These foods will supply you with the right kind of nutrients, nutrients we are not getting from the local fast food joint. Going green is an idea and an action. If you support it, then it will support you in return.

What Bloom is getting at is most teachers see going green as a hurdle. They don’t feel it is worth while going over when they can simple go around it. Going green shouldn’t just be thought of as an idea to save paper. “It covers saving on energy and water, promoting well-being, improving food and drink, and helping local communities to become safer, greener and healthier.” (Bloom)

I feel that if we start going green at a young age, it will only lead to a better future for ourselves and everyone around us.

http://www.lexisnexis.com.ezproxy.gvsu.edu/us/lnacademic/auth/checkbrowser.do?ipcounter=1&cookieState=0&rand=0.48485219504394217&bhcp=1

